Matt Gaetz Is Real Winner of Speaker Vote

If a writer says, “it was like a 15-round fight,” they're using hyperbole. However, according to RedState's Nick Arama, Friday night's vote on speaker of the House did go through for 15 votes before Kevin McCarthy finally won after having to face a revolt from twenty Republicans who initially did not want to vote for him. This was the longest speaker's battle since 1853.

California's McCarthy eventually won the Speakership, however Florida Congressman Matt Gaetz may have won the conflict. Gaetz was the leader of the group of naysayers, alongside Colorado's Lauren Boebert and Arizona's Andy Biggs and for a short moment in time they held the future of all three branches of the government within their grasp. The world was looking at them, as their yay or nay could alter the direction of the future.

In reality, the scene was so intense that a fight was close to breaking out as Mike Rogers of Alabama seemed to lose his temper, according to what Arama was reporting.

After the fourteenth vote, Gaetz evidently changed his mind and walked up to McCarthy in a manner that appeared to energize Gaetz, who then began exuberantly urging the others in voting “no” on adjourning for the night.

The following vote shook up an adjournment motion and after 14 unsuccessful votes, McCarthy finally inched across the finish line, with 216-212 votes (the 212 being NY Democrat Hakeem Jeffries) with five people present, which included Boebert and Gaetz.

He is now House Speaker.

However, his authority has been severely compromised, since the government forced him to offer concession after concession to gain the support of his fellow members. Who was the one who forced the concessions? Gaetz as well as his Freedom Caucus, which includes Andy Biggs, AZ, Dan Bishop, NC, Lauren Boebert, CO, Michael Cloud, TX, Andrew Clyde, GA, Matt Gaetz, FL, Bob Good, VA, Paul Gosar, AZ, Andy Harris, MD, Mary Miller, IL, Ralph Norman, SC, Scott Perry, PA, Matt Rosendale, MT, Chip Roy, TX, Byron Donalds, FL, Josh Brecheen, OK, Eli Crane, AZ, Andy Ogles, TN, Anna Paulina Luna, FL, as well as Keith Self, TX..

It was a thrilling evening on C-SPAN, as Nick Arama reported, explaining how the adjournment vote was retracted from the brink of failure:

“Gaetz and McCarthy appear to have reached some kind of agreement. Gaetz was the one who had voted to adjourn the vote, changed his mind and decided to vote “no,” so they could continue to vote. This was a sign McCarthy did not need to wait any longer in order to whip the votes.”

Then, on the fifteenth round, the majority of the six remaining holdouts voted “present,” lowering the amount needed to win the election and ensuring the vote was for McCarthy. Those six were Rep. Andy Biggs (R-AZ), Rep. Bob Good (R-VA), Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-FL), Rep. Lauren Boebert (R-CO), Rep. Eli Crane (R-AZ), and Rep. Matt Rosendale (R-MT)

You might or may not be a fan of Matt Gaetz, Lauren Boebert, along with members of the Freedom Caucus, but one thing is certain: they exercised their muscles this week and will be an opponent to be reckoned with.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

McCarthy Commits to Action

Sasse Resigns From Senate